Best way to update a linked record on form submit?

I have a subscribers table with multiple rows per each joomla user (one for each subscription purchased). When updating contact information (address, phone and email) in one record in that table, I would like to update that same contact information in all of the related records for that Joomla user in the same table. I think a php form plugin is the way to go a la http://fabrikar.com/forums/index.php?threads/anatomy-of-a-basic-phptable-plugin.20094/, but I am curious if the upsert plugin might be a better option.

If it is the php plugin, I could use a bit of help on where to start, as I am a novice in this area. While the example in the post above is helpful, I am not sure it covers how to update multiple fields in multiple rows with matching userids.

Thanks.

J3.3.3
F2.2

Ideally, you should normalize your tables, so the contact data for the users, so you aren't storing it in the 'subscribers' table, but in a separate 'subscribers_contacts' table, which you join to 'subscribers'. But it's hard to change these things once an app has data, so ...

I'm pretty sure the upsert plugin only handles updating/inserting single rows.

So yeah, a PHP plugin would be your best bet. But the one you referenced is obselete, from an old version of Fabrik. What you would want would be the PHP form submission plugin, set to run 'onAfterProcess', and do something like this:

PHP:
$userid = (int) $formModel->getElementData('userid', true);
if (!empty($userid)) {
  $addr1 = $formModel->getElementData('addr1');
  $addr2 = $formModel->getElementData('addr2');
  // etc etc to grab all your address data
  $db = FabrikHelper::getDbo();
  $query = $db->getQuery(true);
  $query->update('contacts')
    ->set('addr1 = ' . $db->quote($addr1))
    ->set('addr2 = ' . $db->quote($addr2))
    ->where('userid = ' . $db->quote($userid));
  $db->setQuery($query);
  echo $query;exit;
  //$db->execute();
}