Check submissions on submit

mattsh

I have a simple course registration system in Fabrik.
I use two Fabrik lists, one with the dates for the different courses and the different course types and an other with the registrations. I use the first list as a starting point and use related links to the second lists form for the registrations. The first list is a filtered list to show just courses that havn't passed and to limit registrations.

It all works nearly perfect, except that sometimes I have extra registrations on some courses. What I need is to have a check at form submissons to check the number of registrations on that specific course and if the earlier submissions is more than a preset value {jos_fb_course_max_attend} stop the submission.

I'm not a coding expert so I don't know the best way to solve this.

Thanks!

Regards
Matt

So the preset max is on a different table to the form you are submitting, correct? But presumably you have a join element on the form being submitted, which links to the row in the table with the max_attend?

In which case, you'd need to have a custom PHP validation which does something like this:

PHP:
$course_id = $formModel->getElementData('registration___course_id', true);
$db = FabrikWorker::getDbo();
$query = $db->getQuery(true);
$query->select('COUNT (*) AS total')->from('registration')->where('course_id = ' . $db->quote($course_id));
$db->setQuery($query);
$total = (int) $db->loadResult();

$query->clear();
$query->select('max_attend')->from('courses')->where('id = ' . $db->quote($course_id));
$max = (int) $db->loadResult();

return $total > ($max -1);

You'll need to change the element / table / field names to suit.

-- hugh

Thanks, but I haven't managed to get it working.

So the preset max is on a different table to the form you are submitting, correct? But presumably you have a join element on the form being submitted, which links to the row in the table with the max_attend?
Correct!