button - javascript to open form and select records

Status
Not open for further replies.

susannanam

hi all,

here is what i would like to realize:
i have a form and added a button element. when clicking, i would like to open a form where i can select records which shall then be imported into the table and show in the initial form.

i have some ideas like:
- somehow open a popup with the form (js? no idea how to do t hat)
- in the list i put a prefilter to have the correct data and a checkbox element to select the rows
- a php plugin to get the selected rows (how?) and copy them over to the initial table
- refresh the initial form (how?)

...but dont really know yet how to get this together and most of all, i have no js knowledge :((( anyone with a hint please?

thanks
susanna

hi all,

here is what i would like to realize:
i have a form and added a button element. when clicking, i would like to open a form where i can select records which shall then be imported into the table and show in the initial form.

i have some ideas like:
- somehow open a popup with the form (js? no idea how to do t hat)
- in the list i put a prefilter to have the correct data and a checkbox element to select the rows
- a php plugin to get the selected rows (how?) and copy them over to the initial table
- refresh the initial form (how?)

...but dont really know yet how to get this together and most of all, i have no js knowledge :((( anyone with a hint please?

thanks
susanna

here is an update:
when saving the form, i now save an app variable:
Code:
$app = JFactory::getApplication();
echo"student no = " . $studentno;
//exit;
$app->input->set('my_student_id', $studentno);
$app->input->set('my_inv_no', $inv_no);

the button element has the following javascript (it works but not yet perfect as it shows the toolbar, etc and the link is still the admin one but it SHOWS :)))):
Code: