1. Fabrik 3.8.1 has been released. It is mostly bug fixes and feature enhancements, but does include two new plugins (push notifications, and the sequence element). As usual we strongly recommend testing the new release on a sandbox if your application is mission critical, and always do an Akeeba backup before updating.

Anatomy of a basic phptable plugin

Discussion in 'Hints, Tips and Tricks' started by achartier, Feb 7, 2011.

1. achartier

achartier Active Member

Level: Community
    I am creating this post so that others can save some time using the phptable plugin. This tutorial consolidates information I obtained from multiple fabrik posts as well as many google searches. I am not a fabrik expert and am a neophyte when it comes to mysql. I hope this helps others like me.

My problem: I use DocMan on my website to manage hundreds of pdf files for my users.I chose DocMan because it made it easy to assign viewing priviledges by document. We made a decision to change the viewing rights of most of the documents to all users from all registered users. This represented about 300 documents. DocMan has no automated way to do this and to do each manually involves opening each individually, changing the permission and then saving it. A very labor intensive and time consuming process.

It occurred to me I could use Fabrik to connect to the docman table and create a table php plugin to walk through the records and change the viewers field. There are probably other ways to solve this problem, but hey, I wanted to learn how to make a phptable plugin so why not.

Step 1
    Obtain the phptable plugin (you must be a bronze or silver member to get it) http://fabrikar.com/project/downloads/doc_download/14-run-php-table-plugin
    Install the plugin from the plugins tab in Fabrik.

Step 2