• New Commercial Services Section

We have now opened a commercial services section here on the forum. If you have a Fabrik project that you wish to have someone work on for you, post it under Help Wanted. If you are an application developer and wish to earn some money helping others, post your details under Fabrik Application Developers.

Both of these are unmoderated. It will be up to both parties to work out the details and come to an agreement.

Database join, Cascading drop down, Add new

Mono

Hello

I'm a newbie to Joomla and Fabrik but trying my hand to see how it worksI want to persevere because Fabrik seems great.

I have been struggling for a few days now with what I expect is a simple problem.

I have three tables relating to vehicles 'Tbl_make', 'Tbl_model', 'Tbl_vehicleDetails'.

'Tbl_make' has fields 'makeId' and 'make'
'Tbl_model' has fields 'modelId', 'model' and 'makeId'
'Tbl_vehicleDetails has 'LicencePlate', 'makeId' and 'modelId'

I have no problems here having used database join and cascading dropdowns works a treat.
However at data entry of vehicleDetails I need the user to be able to add data to 'Tbl_make' and or 'Tbl_model'.

At the highest level I can use the add function, but in the cascading dropdown its not available.

I had then decided to have a selection in the dropdown of "Add new model", when this was selected it would enable a text box to enter the new model. I can't however get my head round the task.

Or if there is a better way I'd love to hear it?

Mono

I assume that you talk about the form of the "Tbl_vehicleDetails" and from that form it is possible to add new data to the other two table if it was a db_join (with the 'add option in front end'), but not with cascade-dropdown.

What you could do is to use access-levels for the elements in your "Tbl_vehicleDetails" table:
The element of 'make' could be like this add=public and edit = super-user.
And all the other elements add=superusers and edit=registered.