How to make dynamic dbjoin "WHERE clause" controlled by other elements

Status
Not open for further replies.

margarizaldi

Hi everybody, I'm new in fabrik and know very limited (or insufficient, perhaps) knowledge in coding. Now I need your help to solve my problem in creating a small tournament registration form.
I have created a form/list called `Players` which a registered user (say, manager) can submit their players along with some details including gender, birthday, grade, etc.

Now I need those submitted players can be registered by each manager in a table called `match_registration`. The form/list contains:

• dropdown element: match_registration___category
  • dropdown element: match_registration___class
  • dbjoin element: match_registration___player_name

My problem is in the last element (dbjoin), actually I could configure them using standard SQL Where statement e.g.:
Code:
where {thistable}.user_id = '{$my->id}'
and {thistable}.gender = 'male'
and {thistable}.grade >= '3'
and {thistable}.grade <= '7'
and {thistable}.birthday >= '2000-11-30'
and {thistable}.birthday <= '2004-12-01'

But I need more "dynamic" filtering (perhaps using JS in dropdown elements) so that when the `category` value changed (e.g.: from 'Junior' to 'Senior'), the Where statement changes accordingly, e.g:

Code:
and {thistable}.grade >= '8'
and {thistable}.grade <= '10'
and {thistable}.birthday >= '1977-11-30'
and {thistable}.birthday <= '2000-12-01'

I'm thinking that this case can be done using JavaScript in 'category' element using onChange etc. but I don't know how to write the code at all :D
I've searched through this forum but I haven't found the answer, or maybe it's too simple so that no one discussed for it.
I accept any better idea so that it is possible or even easier to implement.

Regards.

You might be able to do it with CASE statements in your WHERE, using placeholders from the form you want the values from

Code:
where {thistable}.user_id = '{$my->id}'