[SOLVED] Calc element to return multiple results

Mustafa_s

Hi guys,

I'm new to databases and queries, I'm trying to learn how to display some results depending on a WHERE clause. My database structure is as follows. Basically put I'm telling it to get the comment that matches a variable:

VveV1Qb.png

When I run the following code I get the first result of comment "XXXXXXXXX", which works good but how can I get the last result instead? I've been hitting my head against the wall for the past 3 hours trying different combinations with no luck.

Code:
$id = '{rowid}';
$db = JFactory::getDbo();
$query = $db->getQuery( true );
$query->select('comment')->from('oyhvg_fabrik_comments')->where('row_id = ' . $db->quote($id));
$db->setQuery($query);
$comment = $db->loadresult();
return $comment;

Any help or guidance is appreciated.

OK I solved it by finding this link: http://fabrikar.com/forums/index.php?wiki/common-php-tasks/

This is the code that worked for me, hope it helps others too:

Code:
$id = '{rowid}';
$db = JFactory::getDbo();
$query = $db->getQuery(true);
$query
    ->select(array('comment', 'name'))
    ->from('oyhvg_fabrik_comments')
    ->where('row_id = ' . $db->quote($id));
$db->setQuery($query);
$rows = $db->loadObjectList();

$list = array();
foreach ($rows as $row)
{
    $list[] = "<li>" . $row->comment . " " . $row->name . "</li>";
}
return "<ol>" . implode($list) . "</ol>";

Just so you know - rather than just stumbling upon some code you could copy and paste that worked;) -
The problem with your original code was the function used to load the query data -
You were using
$comment = $db->loadResult();
When it should have been
$comment = $db->loadObjectList();
or simpler yet,
$comment = $db->loadColumn();
because you only needed results from one column of the table.