1. Hugh (cheesegrits) here. Thank you for all the good wishes. My back surgery was a success, post-op recovery is going well, and I'm getting stronger and feeling better every day. I hope to be getting back in the saddle and working support again over the next few days.
  2. IMPORTANT NOTE - we have made some changes in our github branch naming. The 'master' branch no longer exists, and is now called 'joomla25' (which is Fabrik 3.0). The 'joomla3' branch (which is Fabrik 3.2) remains unchanged. We have also removed all the other testing branches which had accuulated over the last few years. I have posted a thread in the Community forum for 3.0 with some more information, feel free to as questions there.

Understanding general concepts

Discussion in 'Standard Support' started by greif, Jul 27, 2011.

1. greif New Member

Level: Community
    Hi everybody, an absolute Fabrikar/database newbie here, looking for general help with understanding concept behind building a database with Fabrikar.

I'm building a simple database for property evidence. I'll have let's say 2000 items in it, for each there's predefined list of elements to select from - ie. the office where it is in, the price range, kind of the item etc.

What I did was I created a table with name PROPERTIES, I added dropdown elements to it - ie. OFFICE, KIND, PRICE RANGE etc -saved, and whoila, it works.

But than I watched the tutorials on joining tables, and I'm not sure, if better approach would be to build a separate tables instead of the dropdown elements - ie. table OFFICES, KINDS etc. - and than join them together to build the form.

Does this have some advantage over the dropdown elements? What is the rule to know when to create a separate table, and when to use just elements? Anyone could please describe to me the concept, when to use what?

Thanks
    VG
  2. pfleischman New Member