Custom link 'Custom link in details' not working

chris.paschen

Chris Paschen
I just learned about using the 'Custom link' in the Elements | List view settings area (I know ... I'm a noob! :)

I've started using that and it works great in the list view, but wasn't applying to the details view. Nothing I enter in there (even 'garbage' text) was being seen by the details view of the entries.

I did click the 'Custom link in details' YES, but that doesn't seem to have any effect.

I just want to have certain elements, when displayed with the details layout to have a custom link.

Am I expecting functionality that isn't there?
Or have I found a bug?

NOTE: I am using a custom layout for this and have tried both 'element' and 'element_ro' neither works.
I was able to get a work-around by manually 'building' the link from the custom layout file, but I'd really like to move that back into the table settings if possible.

Hi,
I have the same bug with J2.5.28 (yeah yeah I know...) and Fabrikar 3.3.2.
I can't update this website (a new one is programmed for next years) but I need this missing link.

Thnaks for your help

Hmmm... this is pretty old.
On J!3.6.x and Fabrik 3.5 the link seems to be working fine now.
Unfortunately, the only solution might be to upgrade (or live without that feature).

Yes of course I suppose it works with update but I really can't do that so I suppose it's dead for this :-/ Or maybe I can test a Fabrikar update 3.3->3.5 but I really think it's gonna break something ^^ Backup and go on !

Yup... that's why only work with clients that can afford to keep their sites continually updated. My brain just doesn't have the ability to remember how to work with multiple versions of Joomla! :)