Created a copy of a list, but having problems with the elements

BasilC

I'm sure I'm missing something elementary here, but I just can't figure it out!

I've been using Fabrik for an events database for quite a few years, but recently decided to revamp the form and list.

Let's call the original list and form are called List0 for simplicity

I copied the list and gave it a new name - List1. I then made changes to some of the elements - some improved validations, a bit of reformatting and some new calc elements - and distributed them among new groups with some reordering.

I've got that list how I want it, but want to have a copy of the list that doesn't use the pre-filter (the pre-filter filters out any events that have already ended). So I've saved List1 as a copy and called it List2.

Along with the new list Fabrik has created a new group List2 but the elements in it and their ordering are all copies of the elements from List0. I want the new list to consist of the improved elements and groups from List1. When I try editing form List2 it doesn't offer me any groups to add to it other than the new List2 group.

Is there an easy way of bringing across the groups and elements from List1 into List2? Or do I have to create new groups and import elements into them one at a time?

Well, there's only one parent element (List0), and all children are of that parent. IOW, children can't have children of their own... no "grandchildren".

If pre-filters are to be the only difference in between views, ask yourself another question: how about pre-filters not set in the list config, but instead in the menu item? So, keep using List1 with all its element settings, but remove the pre-filters there. Then create two menu items for List1, one with the pre-filters set in the menu item, the other without any pre-filters. No need for another list copy (a.k.a. List2).