Pull Values from Details View and Reuse on New Form

polarweb

Jeremiah
I have a site I am working on where I have two major user groups respectively.

Job Seekers
Employers

Employers are able to post jobs, job seekers can view them. Now, here's what I want to do, I want to allow a job seeker to open up a job listing in Details view. When they get there I want them to be able to see a link or a button that redirects them to another form I will name "Job Application".

On this new form I need to collect the "job_id" employers "contact_email" and prepopulate the "Job Application" hidden fields with this data.

I need help determining the best approach to doing this, as I will need to send the employers and email notification that someone has applied for their job.

I'm a noob, but I think you want to pass the job_id.contact_email in a hidden field and then call it back into a new hidden field with:
$email
= $_POST['email']

I got somewhere today and I think it might work. I am going to use a "display" field and place a button on the details view page. When they click the button maybe I can use dynamic placeholders to build a url...

Going that rout myself with something similar. Though I learned my method was deprecated. But I did just find this:

Use JFactory::getApplication()->input instead.
For getting any variable (say name) from post method use below line of code
JFactory::getApplication()->input->post->get('name');

There is more, but I can't post links...

So to start off with: you need to call JInput via the application like so:
$jinput = JFactory::getApplication()->input;
Then, if you wish to get a single value, you can use:
$name = $jinput->get('name');
Or if you wish to get an array of data, let's say from a form with multiple fields, then you can use:
$data = $jinput->post->getArray(array());